Public records on online lenders and cash advance apps.Payday laws by state

Cash advance apps

Cash advance apps lend against your next paycheck for fees instead of interest: a membership, an instant-transfer fee or a tip.

Cash advance apps compared

Instant transfer on $100Tips
Albert logoAlbert$1,000NoneVariesTransfers to Albert Cash cost nothing; fees for other cards are determined within the appNot stated788
Brigit logoBrigit$500$8.99VariesThe fee ranges from $0.99 to $5.99 based on the amountNo tips384
Cash App logoCash App Borrow$500NoneVariesA single fixed charge determined by how much you borrowNot stated72,532
Chime logoChime SpotMe$750None$3Asks for an optional tip29,493
Cleo logoCleo$500$5.99VariesThe fee is $4.49 to $14.99, based on the amountNo tipsNone found
Dave logoDave$500$5$1.50No tips829
EarnIn logoEarnIn$1,000None$5.99Asks for an optional tip290
Tilt (formerly Empower) logoEmpower$500$8$5Not stated330
FloatMe logoFloatMe$200$6.99$7.50Not stated10
Gerald logoGerald$200NoneFreeYou pay nothing after buying something at CornerstoreNo tipsNone found
Klover logoKlover$750$4.99$9.49Not stated49
MoneyLion logoMoneyLion$1,000None$7.50Asks for an optional tip4,093
Possible Finance logoPossible Finance$650$15VariesFree for most products; the fee for Single Advance is set in the appNo tips2,912

From each app's own fee pages and the CFPB complaint database; complaint counts cover the whole company, not only its advances, and sources are on each app's record. "Varies" means the app sets the fast-transfer fee by amount or in the app. Download the fee table as a CSV.

What the fees add up to

Some cash advance apps let you get wages you've already earned before payday. Others advance you their own money and take it back from your checking account later. Costs can include quick-delivery fees, subscriptions, or tips. The charges may look tiny, yet a $3.18 fee on a $106 advance repaid in 10 days works out to about 109.5% a year if it were a loan, based on the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. That is the CFPB's example, not what every app charges.

  • Average fee for each advance in CFPB data: $3.18
  • Express-delivery charges: $1 to $5.99
  • Monthly plans: up to $14.99 per month
  • In the CFPB's employer-partnered advance data, workers paid an average of $68.88 a year in fees.
A commuter at a bus stop checking a cash advance app on a phone

What cash advance apps really cost as an APR

Pick the app, the amount and the days until repayment. The app's listed fees fill in for you and can be changed.

1 of 3

Without the calculator: the yearly cost of a $100 advance repaid in 14 days.

Total fees, tip and membership shareYearly cost
$126.1%
$5130.4%
$10260.7%

The yearly cost is (fees + tip + membership share) ÷ advance × 365 ÷ days. It is an illustration, not the APR defined by the Truth in Lending Act.

What these advances cost

A paycheck advance generally comes at two speeds. The no-cost route is usually a normal bank transfer arriving in one to three days. If you want the cash immediately, you typically pay an expedited fee, meaning a charge for instant delivery into your account, as the CFPB found.

Those express fees sit between $1 and $5.99, averaging $3.18. They are the main source of income: the CFPB says expedited transfers made up 92.5% of providers' fee revenue.

Little charges pile up since users keep coming back. In its employer-partnered data, the CFPB found the average worker requested 27 advances in a year and spent $68.88 on fees. Roughly 90% of workers paid at least one.

Tips count as a cost too. Where apps request one, the average came to $4.09, and providers got a tip 73% of the time. Certain apps you install on your own also bill monthly memberships reaching $14.99.

Advances through your job vs. apps you download yourself

Earned wage access is simply collecting wages you already earned ahead of your usual payday. Two main versions exist, and each gets repaid differently.

  • Through your employer: the service works with your job, and repayment normally comes out of your next paycheck.
  • Direct to you: you install the app on your own. The provider fronts its own funds, then pulls repayment from your checking account, a setup the Congressional Research Service describes.

With the direct version, repayment arrives as a debit on your bank account. When the balance is too low at that moment, overdraft or NSF fees may follow. NSF means "non-sufficient funds," the charge a bank applies when a payment is returned.

How to compare apps

The right app for you is whichever one costs the least given how you will actually use it. These points make comparing easier.

  • Speed: ask yourself whether the no-cost transfer, which often takes one to three days, is fast enough, because paying for instant cash is the most frequent cost.
  • Membership: look for any monthly charge, and work out what it totals across a whole year.
  • Tips: a tip adds to what you pay, and tip-based apps got one 73% of the time. Check whether the app asks for a tip and how much it suggests before you accept an advance.
  • Repayment date: learn which day the app pulls money from your bank, so the withdrawal does not trigger an overdraft.
  • Cancelling: know how to quit a membership before you join.

Regulators have moved against certain apps for charges that were hidden or hard to understand. The FTC has warned it will pursue apps making unauthorized charges. In 2025 Cleo AI agreed to pay $17 million after the FTC said it billed extra for "instant" advances. A 2023 FTC case against Brigit produced $18 million in refunds once the agency said the company trapped customers in a subscription.

Do these apps check your credit?

We couldn't find reliable public information on which apps check your credit, so we won't guess. What matters more is how you repay: apps you download yourself take the money straight from your checking account, so make sure it will be there on that day. That is the detail to watch, since a debit in a tight week could trigger bank charges.

What the fees add up to over a year

An APR, or annual percentage rate, expresses borrowing costs as a yearly figure. It lets you weigh a small fee against a credit card or a loan. A brief advance for a small sum makes the same fee work out to a steeper APR.

AdvanceFeeDays to repayYearly cost
$106$3.1810109.5%
$50$3.184580.4%

These numbers come from the CFPB and illustrate cost rather than serving as an official legal APR.

The legal position shifted toward the end of 2025. In an advisory opinion effective December 23, 2025, the CFPB said expedited-delivery charges and tips are not finance charges in the normal course. That does not settle how every cash advance app is treated under federal lending rules. The 2024 proposal to classify paycheck advances as loans was later withdrawn. Yearly rates like 109.5% are illustrations of cost, not necessarily APRs an app must disclose.

Working out the yearly rate

You don't need to do this math yourself. If you'd like to check an app, add up every fee and tip you pay and compare that total with the amount you borrowed. If the app charges a monthly fee, consider that separately or spread it across the advances you expect to take that month.

If you'd rather skip the math, a fee of just a few dollars can work out to a high yearly rate when the advance is small and repaid within days.

Talk to someone about cheaper options

This line reaches a debt and loan options specialist. We are not a lender and cannot reach any loan account.

Not calling today? Get the cheaper options for your state by email

By pressing Send my details, you agree that one debt and loan options specialist serving your state may email you about lower-cost options. Agreeing is not a condition of any loan or service, and you can withdraw it at any time.

Common questions

Can an app keep billing me after I stop borrowing?

It can, if you signed up for a monthly membership. Some cost up to $14.99 a month, so check how to cancel before you join. The FTC has taken action against an app it said trapped customers in a subscription.

Can I get part of my paycheck early through my job?

Some employers work with an earned wage provider. Your employer's HR or payroll team can tell you whether yours does and how repayment works.